Endowed Professorships and Scholarships

What are endowments and how do they work?

An endowment represents a compact between a donor and an institution. It consists of gifts which are permanently endowed (or saved) and which are generally named after the donor, a loved one (living or deceased) or a favorite college professor or dean. The donor who establishes a named endowment fund at LSUE may choose the program and/or area that will benefit from the endowment. Endowments can also be named after the donors choosing and declared unrestricted. The purpose of these funds are to enhance programs set in place by the Chancellor.

Part of the annual interest earned from each named endowment is used to support the programs selected by the donor, and a portion is reinvested so that the donor's endowed gift will remain in perpetuity and grow over time. Creating an endowment links past, current, and future generations. It allows an institution to make commitments far into the future, knowing that resources to meet those commitments will continue to be available. For further information on endowments or to establish an endowment at LSUE, contact the LSUE Foundation at 337-457-6140.

Current Endowed Professorships

  • Fritz Lang Endowed Professorship
  • Lafayette General Medical Center Endowed Professorship I
  • Lafayette General Medical Center Endowed Professorship II
  • Opelousas General Hospital Endowed Professorship I
  • The BellSouth, Atmos Energy, Cleco, CenturyTel, and Entergy Louisiana Public Service Endowed Professorship for Public Policy
  • Eunice Train Derailment Settlement Endowed Professorship I
  • Eunice Train Derailment Settlement Endowed Professorship II

2016-2017 Endowed Professorships

  • Camille Lavigne, Janet Scott, & Angie Sonnier – X-Ray Booth Camp (awarded Laf. Gen. #1 for $5,000)
  • David Asbury – Is There a Need for a Polysomnography Add on the Respiratory Care Program at LSUE (awarded Laf. Gen. #2 for $5,000)
  • Barbara Batiste – Campus Health Program  (awarded Public Policy award for $4,000)
  • Dr. Chad Huval – Evaluation of Feathers for the Sequestration of Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids: Sequestration vs. Viscosity (awarded Train Derailment #1 for $4,000)
  • Dr. Maura Cavell & Dr. Diane Langlois – A Factual Representation of the Unique and Colorful Aspect of South Central La. (awarded Train Derailment #2 for $4,000)
  • Dr. Jameel Al-Dujaili – Reduction of Hand Bacteria: A Comparative Study between the Sumac Oil Liquid Soap, Antibacterial Soft Hand Soap, Antibacterial Hand Gel (awarded Fritz Lang for Agriculture for $4,000)
  • Dr. James Cordes – Systematic Identity and Status of Three Potentially New Populations of Parthenogenetic Aspidoscelis Tesselata from Two Texas State Parks, and from a Nature Preserve in North and West Texas Revealed through Skin-Graft Histocompatibility Techniques (awarded Opel. Gen. for $4,000)


Current Endowed Scholarships

  • Leon E. Tujaque Memorial Scholarship
  • Wesley H. Clanton Scholarship
  • Dr. Gladys Peck Memorial Scholarship
  • Barton Freeland, Sr. Endowment Scholarship
  • Ville Platte Rotary Club Endowed Scholarship
  • Louis Dischler, Jr. Memorial Scholarship
  • CLECO Endowed Scholarship
  • Founding Chancellor Emeritus Anthony Mumphrey Education Achievement Scholarship
  • LSUE Faculty/Staff Scholarship
  • Fanny Edith Winn Educational Trust Scholarship
  • Ruby Robison Freeland Fund
  • Leonard Gerald "Pep" Spell, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Nunez/Holbrook Family Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Jon Sargent Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Leroy Burney Jr. Memorial Scholarship
  • Myrtle Odom Scholarship Award
  • Evangeline Parish Bar Association Endowed Scholarship
  • Elizabeth Stark Faust Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • "Blair" Manuel Memorial Endowed Fund
  • Estelle Aycock Memorial Nursing Incentive Award

Community Donors Scholarship Fund

  • Daniel Lloyd Johnson, II Scholarship
  • Wilson J. Moosa Memorial Scholarship
  • Sylvia Eleanor Reed Memorial Fellowship
  • Dr. J.J. Stagg Memorial Scholarship
  • Mitch, Alex, and George Ashy Family Memorial Scholarship
  • Beth Stark Memorial Scholarship
  • Sertoma Club of Opelousas, Inc. Endowed Scholarship
  • Brouillette-Forester Scholarship
  • Dr. Burke Brignac Memorial Scholarship
  • Community College of Acadiana
  • Kim Bergeron Memorial Fund
  • George "Phil" Hadden Memorial Scholarship
  • Mary Arden Duplechin Scholarship